DTM Architecture

We will first briefly introduce a complete distributed transaction, and after you understand the process of distributed transaction, then we will introduce the DTM architecture in detail.

Distributed transaction process

Suppose we want to make an interbank transfer, A to B $30, because A and B are not in the same database, it can't be solved by local transaction, so SAGA distributed transaction is used to solve this problem, below is a successful SAGA transaction (for more SAGA details, refer to SAGA) with the following timing diagram.

saga_normal

The whole global transaction is divided into the following steps.

  1. the user defines all the transaction branches of the global transaction, including action/compensate, and submits them to DTM, which persists the global transaction information and returns immediately
  2. DTM take out the first transaction branch, here is TransOut, call the service which successfully returned.
  3. DTM take out the second transaction branch, here is TransIn, call the service which also returned successfully.
  4. DTM has completed all transaction branches, and the status of the global transaction is changed to finished.

On the basis of understanding the above timing diagram, we look at the DTM architecture

DTM architecture diagram

arch

There are three roles in the whole DTM architecture, each taking on a different function

  • RM-Resource Manager: RM is an application service that is responsible for managing local transactions in global transactions. RM usually connects to a database and is responsible for operations such as modification, commit, rollback, and compensation of related data. For example, in the previous SAGA transaction, the TransIn and TransOut services that were called in steps 2 and 3 are RMs, which are operationally responsible for the modification of A and B account balances
  • AP-Application: AP is an application service, responsible for the orchestration of global transactions, he will register global transactions, register subtransactions, and call the RM interface. For example, in the previous SAGA transaction, it is the AP that initiates step 1, which orchestrates a global transaction containing TransOut and TransIn, and then submits it to TM
  • TM-Transaction Manager: TM is the DTM service, responsible for the management of global transactions. Each global transaction is registered to TM, and each transaction branch is also registered to TM. TM will coordinate all the RMs to commit or roll back all the different branches of the same global transaction. For example, in the previous SAGA transaction, TM calls each RM in steps 2 and 3, and completes this global transaction in step 4

Sometimes a service may take on the functions of both AP and RM, such as the nested TCC case that will be illustrated later.

Cross-language features

dtm itself is written by Go, but provides multi-language distributed transaction support. Why DTM supports multiple languages, while other distributed transaction framework currently do not?

In other frameworks, the design of the SDK layer is heavy and includes a lot of logic, and some frameworks implement a custom XA protocol in the SDK layer, so the whole SDK is heavy and requires a lot of work to expand to other languages.

But in the above DTM architecture, SDK is the blue part in AP. It is positioned as a very thin layer at the beginning of design, the main function is to call HTTP/gRPC protocol communication, plus some ID generation and so on. For a new language, the development of a simple usable SDK generally requires only a few dozen to a few hundred lines of code. Currently there are already multilingual SDKs available under dtm-labs, see Multilingual SDK for details.

High Availability

In the architecture above, dtm is not a single point, but a cluster of services. The cluster consists of multiple dtm instance processes, which access a shared highly-available database (optionally Redis/Mysql/Postgres).

Almost all cloud vendors provide highly available databases, and almost all companies that require high availability for their business will have highly available databases in-house, so it is not difficult to deploy dtm with a highly available database.

In a real production deployment, DTM is multi-instance and the connected shared storage is highly available, so there is no single point, thus providing a highly-available DTM service.

Simultaneous polling of multiple processes

During the running of the global transaction, various network errors may occur, resulting in the global transaction not completing at once and requiring several retries.

DTM (under the default configuration) will poll the global task that needs to be processed when the timeout is over. The poll is started in each process instance. In order to ensure that a time-out task will not be taken out by multiple instances at the same time in the above highly available multi-process deployment, DTM uses a mechanism similar to optimistic locking to ensure that a task will only be taken out by one DTM instance.

  • DB storage engine: Use update ... set owner=... , time=... where ... This approach, because of the atomicity of update, can guarantee that a record will be updated by only one instance
  • Redis Storage Engine: Atomic operation using lua script to ensure that a record is only taken out by one instance

In the extreme case, of course, it is still possible for this task to be taken out by two processes, and in this case the correctness of the result will not be affected in the end because the result of each branch is idempotent.

Terminology

DTM often refers to some terminology in the theory and practice of distributed transactions, and these terms are defined below.

  • Transaction branch: we call the global transaction component managed by each service, a transaction branch, for example, the previous transfer, divided into two transaction branches: transfer out and transfer in
  • Branch operations: Each transaction branch, in transaction modes such as SAGA, XA, TCC, etc., will have multiple operations, such as the transfer out transaction branch, including the operation: TransOut and TransOutCompensate
  • Local transaction: The operation in the branch of the turn-out transaction usually opens a transaction to deduct the balance, and we call this transaction of the data operation, the local transaction
  • GID: Global transaction ID, used to mark the global transaction, must be unique. This ID can be generated using UUID, or you can use a business ID, such as an order ID, etc.

interface protocol

Currently dtm only supports http and grpc protocols, and some microservice protocols on top of that. Since distributed transactions involve distributed collaboration, it is inevitable that some participants may have exceptions such as temporary unavailability or return 500. These temporary unavailability and 500s are quite different from business failures.

service errors and business failures

For example, in the previous transfer amount operation, if you encounter a temporary unavailability or 500, you should not consider the transfer to have failed and roll it back.

A dtm user, in an old system that did not use distributed transactions, once encountered an accident of this kind. After the system called send red packet which timed out, the developer assume that the sent of red packet failed and skipped deducting the user's balance. But when the red packet service returned to normal, he found that the red packet had been sent, which led to the wrong amount and caused the accident.

Therefore when developing distributed transaction, remember that service return error does not mean business failure

For "temporarily unavailable" and "500" mentioned above, DTM will retry. And for definite results such as success or failure, the progress of the distributed transaction is updated.

In the dtm system, there are four results for invoking transaction branch operation.

  • SUCCESS: indicates success
  • FAILURE: indicates failure. This failure refers to a definite failure result and does not require a retry. For example, a sub-transaction fails because the transfer balance is insufficient.
  • ONGOING: indicates that the transaction is not completed and is still in progress, at this time the dtm server needs to retry at a fixed interval instead of the exponential retreat algorithm.
  • Other: means temporary error, use exponential retreat algorithm to avoid high load which may be introduced by too many retries.

ONGOING

DTM introduces a special result ONGOING, when DTM receives this return value, it means that the branch operation is still in normal progress, not yet completed, and needs to be retried. If you need to book a ticket for a travel trip, the third party may take an hour to confirm the result of the ticket booking, then the application can specify the retry interval of the distributed transaction and return ONGOING when no definite result is obtained, so that the DTM will retry according to the fixed interval. Details can be found in SAGA

The three results with clear meaning in HTTP and gRPC can be represented like this:

HTTP

  • SUCCESS: status code 200 StatusOK
  • FAILURE: Status code 409 StatusConflict
  • ONGOING: status code 425 StatusTooEarly

gRPC

  • SUCCESS: StatusCode OK
  • FAILURE: StatusCode Aborted
  • ONGOING: StatusCode FailedPrecondition

The above HTTP and gRPC result definitions are friendly and compatible with the cloud-native retry policy. By default, if the microservice is configured with a retry policy, other results may be retried (usually HTTP 502 or gRPC Unavailable), while OK results will not be retried.

VS XA DTP model

DTM architecture and role, are very similar to the X/Open XA DTP model. RM, AP, TM take on the same function. DTM has just extended XA DTP model to the service/microservice architecture.

xa-dtp

The main differences are as follows.

  • TM is no longer a single point, but a cluster, with high availability in itself. The single point problem in the original 2PC is solved by clustered dtm instances + shared highly available storage. There is no complex election process in this, but relies on the highly available shared storage provided by the cloud service (the cloud service provider does the failure re-election and the user does not have to care)
  • RM is not a direct database, but a service, and the service interacts with the database behind it. TM interacts with the RM service, and not directly with the database
  • AP is not a direct local program, but a service access RM through the network of api request, rather than the local SDK call.

Summary

DTM hide the complexity internally, expose to the user a very simple and easy to use interface.

DTM架构

我们先简单介绍一个完整的分布式事务,大家了解了分布式事务的过程后,再详细介绍DTM的架构。

分布式事务过程

假设我们要进行一个跨行转账,A转给B30元,因为A、B不在同一个数据库,无法通过本地事务解决,因此使用了SAGA分布式事务来解决这个问题,下面是一个成功的SAGA事务(更多SAGA详情,参考SAGA)的时序图:

saga_normal

整个全局事务分为如下几步:

  1. 用户定义好全局事务所有的事务分支,包括action/compensate,然后提交给DTM,DTM持久化全局事务信息后,立即返回
  2. DTM取出第一个事务分支,这里是TransOut,调用该服务,该服务成功返回
  3. DTM取出第二个事务分支,这里是TransIn,调用该服务,该服务也成功返回
  4. DTM已完成所有的事务分支,将全局事务的状态,修改为已完成

在理解了上述的这个时序图的基础上,我们来看dtm的架构

DTM架构图

arch

整个DTM架构中,一共有三个角色,分别承担了不同的功能

  • RM-资源管理器:RM是一个应用服务,负责管理全局事务中的本地事务,他通常会连接到一个数据库,负责相关数据的修改、提交、回滚、补偿等操作。例如在前面的这个SAGA事务中,步骤2、3中被调用的TransIn,TransOut服务都是RM,业务上负责A、B账户余额的修改
  • AP-应用程序:AP是一个应用服务,负责全局事务的编排,他会注册全局事务,注册子事务,调用RM接口。例如在前面的这个SAGA事务中,发起步骤1的是AP,它编排了一个包含TransOut、TransIn的全局事务,然后提交给TM
  • TM-事务管理器:TM就是DTM服务,负责全局事务的管理,每个全局事务都注册到TM,每个事务分支也注册到TM。TM会协调所有的RM,将同一个全局事务的不同分支,全部提交或全部回滚。例如在前面的SAGA事务中,TM在步骤2、3中调用了各个RM,在步骤4中,完成这个全局事务

这里的角色划分中,有时候一个服务可能会同时承担AP和RM的功能,例如后续讲到的嵌套TCC情况。

跨语言特性

dtm本身由Go编写,他提供了多语言分布式事务的支持,为什么DTM支持了多语言,而其他的分布式事务框架,目前未看到多语言支持呢?

目前看到其他框架中,在SDK层的设计里,都比较重,包括的逻辑多,还有部分框架在SDK层实现了自定义的XA协议,因此整个SDK很重,拓展到更多语言,需要大量大量的工作。

而在上述DTM的架构中,SDK是AP中的蓝色部分,他在设计之初,定位就是很薄的一层,主要功能就是调用HTTP/gRPC协议通信,加上一些ID生成等。对于一门新语言,开发一个简单可用的SDK,一般只需要几十行到几百行的代码。目前dtm-labs下,已经有多门语言的SDK了,详情参见多语言SDK

高可用

在上述这个架构中,TM不是单点,而是一个服务集群。集群由多个dtm实例进程构成,多个dtm实例访问一个共享的高可用数据库(可以选Redis/Mysql/Postgres)。

几乎所有的云厂商都会提供高可用的数据库,几乎所有要求业务高可用的公司内部,都会有高可用的数据库,因此将dtm对接到一个高可用数据库是毫无困难的。

在实际的生产部署中,DTM是多实例的,连接的共享存储是高可用的,因此不存在单点,从而提供了高可用的DTM服务。

多进程同时轮询

全局事务的运行过程中,可能出现各种网络错误,导致全局事务无法一次完成,需要定时重试。

DTM(默认配置下)会在每个进程实例中,去轮询超时需要处理的全局任务。为了保证上述高可用多进程部署中,一个超时任务不会被多个实例同时取出,dtm使用了类似乐观锁的机制,保证一个任务只会被一个dtm实例取出。

  • DB存储引擎: 采用update ... set owner=..., time=... where ... 这种方式,因为update的原子性,能够保证一条记录只被一个实例更新
  • Redis存储引擎: 采用lua脚本原子操作,保证一条记录只被一个实例取出

当然极端情况下,还是有可能出现这个任务被两个进程取出,这个时候由于每个分支的结果是幂等的,所以最终不会影响结果的正确性。

术语

DTM在分布式事务的理论与实践中,常常会提到一些专业术语,下面定义这些术语:

  • 事务分支:我们把每个服务管理的全局事务组成部分,称为事务分支,例如前面的转账,分为转出和转入两个事务分支
  • 分支操作:每个事务分支,在SAGA、XA、TCC等事务模式下,会有多个操作,例如转出事务分支,包括正向操作TransOut和TransOutCompensate
  • 本地事务:转出事务分支中的正向操作,通常会开启一个事务,对余额进行扣减,我们将数据操作的这个事务,称为本地事务
  • GID:全局事务ID,用于标记全局事务,必须唯一。该ID可以采用UUID生成,也可以使用业务上的ID,例如订单ID等

接口协议

目前dtm只支持http和grpc协议,以及在这基础上的部分微服务协议。由于分布式事务涉及分布式协作,某些参与者可能出现暂时不可用或者返回500等异常情况是不可避免的。这些暂时不可用和500,与业务上的失败有非常大的区别。

接口错误与业务失败

例如前面的转出金额操作,如果遇见暂时不可用,或者500,此时不应当认为转账失败,而进行回滚。

有个dtm的用户,在未使用分布式事务的旧系统中,曾经遇到过这类事故,起因是开发人员在调用发红包后,因为调用超时,认为发红包失败,没有扣减用户的余额,但是当红包服务恢复正常后,发现红包已发出,这就导致了金额错误,造成了事故。

因此进行分布式事务开发时,切记 接口返回错误 不等于 业务失败

对于上述的 ”暂时不可用“ 及 ”500“,DTM 会进行重试。而对于成功或失败等确定的结果,则会更新分布式事务的进度。

dtm系统中,调用分支事务的服务,有四种结果:

  • SUCCESS: 表示成功
  • FAILURE: 表示失败,这个失败是指确定的失败结果,不需要重试。例如子事务因转账余额不足而失败,dtm服务因为事务已完成不允许再次提交等
  • ONGOING: 表示未完成,还在正常进行中,此时dtm服务器需要采用固定间隔重试,而不是指数退避算法重试
  • 其他: 表示临时错误,采用指数退避算法重试,避免出现故障或者bug,导致大量重试,导致负载过高

ONGOING

DTM 引入了一个特殊的结果 ONGOING,当 DTM 收到这个返回值时,认为这个子事务操作还在正常进行中,还未完成,需要进行重试。假如你需要预定旅游出行的机票,第三方可能需要1个小时才能够确认机票预定的结果,那么应用可以指定分布式事务的重试间隔时间,并在未获得确定结果时,返回 ONGOING,这样 DTM 会按照固定间隔时间重试。详情可以参见 SAGA

下面分别说明 HTTP 和 gRPC 中,如何表示含义明确的三种结果

HTTP

  • SUCCESS: 状态码 200 StatusOK
  • FAILURE: 状态码 409 StatusConflict
  • ONGOING: 状态码 425 StatusTooEarly

gRPC

  • SUCCESS: 状态码 OK
  • FAILURE: 状态码 Aborted
  • ONGOING: 状态码 FailedPrecondition

以上 HTTP 和 gRPC 的几个结果定义,对于云原生上的重试策略是友好兼容的,默认情况下,如果微服务配置了重试策略,那么对于其他结果(通常为 HTTP 502 或者 gRPC Unavailable)会进行重试,而确定的结果,则不会被云原生上的重试策略重试。

接口协议变更

dtm的接口协议在 1.10.0进行了变更升级,升级的同时保持了与旧版本的兼容,详情参见升级指南

与XA DTP模型异同

DTM的架构和角色,与X/Open XA的DTP模型一致,RM、AP、TM担当的功能都是一致的,只是将XA的DTP模型拓展到了服务/微服务架构上。

DTM对比了其他事务框架的角色划分和DTP的角色划分,认为DTP在总体架构,依旧能够适用于跨服务这种分布式事务形式,因此保留了AP、RM、TM的划分

xa-dtp

主要区别如下:

  • TM不再是单点,而是集群部署,本身就具备高可用。原先2PC中的单点问题,就被集群化的dtm实例+共享的高可用存储解决了。这其中没有复杂的选举过程,而是依赖云服务上提供的高可用共享存储引擎(云服务商户进行故障重新选举,用户不用关心)
  • RM不是直接的数据库,而是服务,服务的与他背后数据库交互。TM与RM服务交互,而不会与数据库直接交互
  • AP不是直接的本地程序,而是服务,他对RM的访问,是通过网络的api请求,而不是本地SDK调用。

小结

DTM的整体架构具备高可用,易扩容等特点,复杂性都在内部解决,暴露给用户的是非常简单易上手的形式。

Last Updated: